This prize was inaugurated in 2009, and is now sponsored by Slightly Foxed, the Real Reader’s Quarterly

  • 2009: Philip Ziegler, Rebecca Fraser and Brian MacArthur
  • 2010: Lady Antonia Fraser, Anne Chisholm and Roland Chambers
  • 2011: Anne Sebba, Nicholas Clee and Michael Prodger
  • 2012: Julie Kavanagh, Stephanie Williams and David Sexton
  • 2013: DJ Taylor, Robert Collins and Sally Cline
  • 2014: Lucy Hughes-Hallett, Jane Ridley, Anthony Sattin
  • 2015: Damian Barr, Fiona MacCarthy, James Naughtie
  • 2016: Richard Davenport-Hines, Flora Fraser and Ysenda Maxtone Graham
  • 2017:¬†Caroline Moorehead, Ian Kelly and Sam Leith
  • 2018: Anne Chisholm, Rachel Cooke and Andrew O’Hagan